top of page

Creativity and depression

Updated: Jan 16, 2021

Since moving to Germany almost six years ago (it’ll be six in May) I’ve been on a downward spiral health wise.

In January 2019 I found out that I have an autoimmune thyroid disorde, which caused chronic fatigue, brain fog, depression and anxiety.

Over the past five years I’ve spent most of my creative energies on crocheting, and knitting. I largely stopped designing, and especially publishing new designs, because I just didn’t have the energy but I was still being creative to keep my sanity.

I‘ve made myself a drawer full of socks and sweaters and that was good but recently I’ve been itching to draw, and even paint again.

So I got myself some new watercolour pencils and paper in various sizes with money I received at Christmas time and this afternoon I completed my first serious drawing. Its just a small drawing but it was good to complete it. If you enjoyed this post please consider subscribing, and please share you’re makes on Instagram by tagging them #LoveThisCreativeLife


19 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page