top of page

Granny Rectangle Blanket

I was at my LYS on Monday and a lady needed some help creating a granny rectangle blanket. We, the lady, store owner and I, threw some ideas around but it was a rush and I wasn’t really happy with what I had drawn, so yesterday I sat down to work it out properly and thought I’d share the how-to with you 🙂

Firstly, just a reminder, I use US stitch names, so don’t get confused.

I’ve included a step-by-step photo tutorial as well as a diagramme, for those of you who prefer that method. It’s hand drawn, but pretty clear. Of course I’ve also flipped the photos so all you right handed crochet lovers won’t be totally confused by my left handedness 😉

So, here goes…

ROUND 1 CH6


GrannyRectangle_01

Place 3DCs into the third CH from hook (I do not use the CHs instead of DCs that’s why I only use CH2 here and use SS and CH1 in all consecutive rounds.)

Also, make sure you only use one loop of the CH, or you will not be able to finish the rectangle.


GrannyRectangle_02

CH3 (this is the first corner).


GrannyRectangle_03

3DC into next chain space, CH1, 3DC into next chain space, CH3 (second corner),


GrannyRectangle_05

3DC into next chain space, CH3 (third corner),


GrannyRectangle_06

3DC into the same chain space as the third set of DCs,


GrannyRectangle_07

CH1, 3DC into same chain space as the second set of DCs.

To close the rectangle off CH1 followed by HDC into the first DC of the round.


GrannyRectangle_09

GrannyRectangle_10

GrannyRectangle_11

ROUND 2

SS, CH1


GrannyRectangle_12

3DC around HDC from ROUND 1, CH1, [3DC , CH3, 3DC] into corner chain space, CH1, 3DC into CH1, [3DC , CH3, 3DC] into corner chain space, CH1, [3DC , CH3, 3DC] into corner chain space,  CH1, 3DC into CH1, 3DC around CH1 from ROUND 1, CH1, HDC into first DC of the round.


GrannyRectangle_13

And that’s pretty much it. You can carry on like this indefinitely.

Just remember to place  3DC, CH3, 3DC into each of the corners, except for the closing corner.

Here’s the diagramme, for those of you who find it easier to read those (I love diagrammes and find them much easier to follow than written patterns.)


GrannyRectangle_14

This particular Granny Square is from Robyn Chachula’s book Crochet Stitches Visual Encyclopedia. An absolute must have for any crocheter, whether novice or advanced.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page