top of page

Liebster Award

The lovely Hilda from Yarn in a Barn nominated me for a Liebster Award and asked me to answer some questions.


liebster

Quite honestly, I had never heard of this award before but I think it’s a fabulous idea, so thanks for the nomination Hilda! Herewith the answers to your questions:

  1. What is the name of your favourite yarn and why is it your favourite? Oh, my, how long can this blog post become? Haha! I think that at the moment I’m torn between two yarns. One is Vinnis Colours Serina. It’s a 100% handdyed bamboo yarn (not that I need to tell Hilda this, it’s more for those of you who aren’t familiar with Vinnis Colours yet 😉 ) I love it for various reasons: 1. It’s one of the first natura fibre yarns I’ve ever worked with. 2. It’s incredibly soft, squishy and has a gorgeous sheen to it, which adds that extra bit of luxury. 3. Vinni is a genius with colour and the yarn comes in absolutely exquisit shades. (With equally gorgeous names, such as Raspberry and Midnight <3)

The second is Hartlam’s Clarens Lace (thank you for introducing me to Hartlam, Hilda!) It’s an absolutely exquisit blend of 55% Superwash Bluefaced Leichester and 45% Silk. It is the most luxurious thing I have ever held in my hands and is an absolute dream to work with. Also, the indie-dyed yarn comes in the most incredible colourways, with names such as ‘In Love With a Fighter Pilot’ (that’s the one I’m working with at the moment.

  1. What is your favourite type of project (clothing, rugs, afghans, etc)? Oh, I like designing anything really. I think for me it’s all about the challenge. So, let me rather say that my favourite type of project is one that pushes my crochet knowledge to new heights. I also tend to design things that play with textures, whether its through the mixing of different fibres, or with the stitches I choose, or with a combination of the two.

  1. Is your yarn stash well organised or all over the place? Yes. Out of necessity really. Our KZN home was very small (two bedrooms, kitchen and an ‘open-plan’ office/living room area. I couldn’t have my stash lying around all over. Let me say that I’m not actually a very organised person however when it comes to things such as my yarn I just had to create some order, mainly so that I can quickly find a yarn I’m looking for. I have it organised according to fibre and colour but then I’ve also got a few sub categories, so all my plant based yarns (cottons and bamboos) are kept in one drawer, my dwindling-don’t-quite-know-what-to-do-with-it-anymore stash of acrylics is in a second and my animal fibres are in another drawer. Plus I keep all my super luxurious yarn, such as Hartlam and Nurturing Fibres, and any other skeined yarn in a special basket 🙂

  1. Is there enough yarn in your stash to make an entire blanket from? Yes, probably two.

  2. What is your favourite crochet hook brand and why? Gosh, that’s a tough one… I have been quite happy with my KnitPro hooks. I have an entire set of interchangeable Tunisian hooks from the Symfonie range. They are gorgeous and made out of wood. I love them because they stopped my hand from cramping. My tension is rather tight and the wood needs a softer touch, which stopped the cramping but it also slowed down the crocheting, so I don’t use them very much anymore. I have a few KnitPro soft grip hooks which I’ve been quite happy with but I’m looking for something different at the moment and am leaning towards Prym. My mom gave me her crochet hooks when I became interested and among them were some Prym hooks. They are vintage and have plastic handles but they are great to work with the metal is of good quality and I can crochet really fast with them. They also don’t create cramps in my hands because of the thicker plastic handle.

  3. What is your happy colour? Ah, any variation, mixture and/or tone of red.

  1. How many WIPs do you have right now? Hahaha! I am currently working on three blankets, two shawls, about three hats an amigurumi Rhino in Serina and a doll not to mention the items that are in between finished item and finished written pattern stage! So, that’s 10 projects!! I’ve also got a serious case of startalitis, which means that it’s dangerous for me to look at anything inspiring or yarn related at the moment because I want to crochet ALL THE THINGS!

  2. Where is your favourite hooky place? Hmm, it would be in my studio because my desk is right agains the window which looks out into my garden, but for the remainder of the year it will still need to be the living room couch, since that’s where my daughter has more space to play.

  1. What two words best describe you? Eccentric Creative

  2. What do you think will be remembered about you when you are gone? Goodness! That’s a deep one…. I would hope that people would think of me as a WYSIWYG (what you see is what you get) type of person. I do my best to be the same person no matter where I am and what type of crowd I am part of. I don’t have a crochet persona, that I pull out at our Yarmie meetings, I don’t have a mountain bike persona. I am who I am. So, I hope people will remember that I was always me, not perfect, but always consistent, always someone with integrity, who stood up for what she believed in and did the best she could.I would like to nominate:

and

And here are my questions for you:

1. Who taught you to crochet or knit or sew…? 2. Why do you crochet or knit etc? 3. What is your favourite yarn and why? 4. Where is your favourite place to crochet or knit? 5. If you pursue more than one craft, which do you prefer and why? 6. What is your favourite project up to date? This can be anything you created, doesn’t need to be knit or crochet etc. 7. If you could do anything without consequences for one day only, what would you do? 8. Are you a mountain or a sea person? 9. What is your favourite quotation? 10. If you had unlimited funds what would be your next craft purchase?

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page