top of page

Robyn’s Yarn Bombed Sticks


Robyn's yarn bombed sticks

Today is rather a visual feast of colours, textures and patterns. ….


For the July 2014 issue of Your Family magazine I was asked to yarn bomb some sticks. Which Robyn, one of the staff loved so much that she asked me to make her some too. …..


….


And here they are: Robyn wanted lots of colour, fun, textures and prettiness. ….


I think I delivered, yes?


Yarn bombing is really easy and fun. It’s a great way to practice stitch patterns and colour combinations.


An added bonus is that you end up with something pretty to liven up your home, garden or neighbourhood, if you do an outdoor yarn bomb. ….


….


I used Vinnis Colours Nikkim yarn with a 4mm hook and various stitch patterns, some from Robyn Chachula’s book Crochet Stitches Visual Encyclopedia (my go-to stitch pattern book).



I also used Jan Eaton’s 200 Crochet blocks for Blankets, throws, and afghans (both these books are also available on Kalahari for my South African readers.) The above stitch is from that book (without the added slip stitches). ….


Some of the patterns I made up as I went along. I also used some of the granny squares from Simply Crochet’s Granny Square app.


It was really difficult to photograph these sticks to convey a sense of what they really look like to you.That’s why I’ve added so many photos. I honestly couldn’t choose any less and wanted you to feel as if you were seeing them in real life. ….



I hope that the photos have brightened up your day somewhat and that you might have been inspired to bomb something of your own 😉 There are still a few more photos to come, so please keep scrolling.


Robyn's yarn bombed sticks

Robyn's yarn bombed sticks

Robyn's yarn bombed sticks

Robyn's yarn bombed sticks

Robyn's yarn bombed sticks

Robyn's yarn bombed sticks

Robyn's yarn bombed sticks

Robyn's yarn bombed sticks

Robyn's yarn bombed sticks

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page