top of page

The Spring is Sprung Granny Square Blanket

Updated: Dec 17, 2020

I have been rather silent up on the blog recently, haven’t I? I do apologise but I am just a bit busy.

Spring is Spring Granny Square Blanket

It’s actually amazing that I am able to complete any personal projects at all because there are deadlines everywhere! (plus I have a toddler to raise and a husband to look after 😉 )

Well, that’s enough about what’s going on with me for the moment. Last year we received a beautiful wedding invitation to our friends’ wedding, which happened to be on 1 February.


1888695_10152282726635891_997253560_n

That’s the newlyweds, Gideon and Jerusha, their photos were taken by Lad and Lass Photography and are amazing! Jerusha also has an awesome blog This Red Lipstick, go check it out!

Now, two weeks before Jerusha’s kitchen tea (and about a month away from the wedding) I decided to make them a blanket as a wedding gift! A 12×9 square blanket! In less than a month!


Spring is Spring Granny Square Blanket

Spring is Spring Granny Square Blanket

Spring is Spring Granny Square Blanket

It took three months to make in the end and there were a few times when I could have just thrown it out because I was frustrated by it (you can go through my Instagram feed to find out more about that). I also think that if it wasn’t a present I would never have finished it because it got so overwhelming at times but I did finish it in the end and I am so glad I did!


Spring is Spring Granny Square Blanket

It came out beautifully, just how I pictured it in my head and the added bonus: Jerusha loved it! When The Raath’s came to collect it last Friday and I handed Jerusha the present she couldn’t contain her excitement. We follow each other on Instagram, so she had a suspicion as to what was in the wrapping but she wasn’t sure. She asked me if she could rip the paper because she was so excited and when she saw the blanket peeping through, she squealed with excitement and hugged me! In fact, she didn’t want to let go!


Spring is Spring Granny Square Blanket

That reaction alone was so totally worth the three months of work on that blanket. I couldn’t be happier with having given it to them and I hope it keeps them nice and cosy on cold Cape Town winter evenings. I said to them, that it would be perfect to snuggle under and Gideon said something to the effect of, that the plan was to do lots of that (with a mischievous little chuckle).


Spring is Spring Granny Square Blanket

So, for those of you who are interested in the stats on the blanket’s construction here they are:

Yarn: Raeesah cotton soft in 8 colours (sorry, silly me threw the labels away so I can’t tell you the colours) 27 balls of yarn were used in total! Hook: 5mm I used the join-as-you-go method to construct the blanket and must say that I don’t think I’ll ever make a blanket without it. It’s much easier and you can clearly see your progress. In terms of colour arrangement I wanted it to be very random, so I (literally) threw all the flower squares onto my floor, spread them out and had Eliana help me to pick them all up again. The blanket weighs 2.7kg (approximately) and I wove in over 800 yarn ends!


Spring is Spring Granny Square Blanket

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page