top of page

The Colour Your Mind Cowl


Colour Your Mind Cowl

So, my last post was all about how I feel and I want to continue in a similar vein with this post.

Since Marinke’s death I have been thinking about what I could do to honour her. I took part in the Mandalas for Marinke project, and also made a Mandala for Wink. However, I also wanted to make something a bit more personal. Which meant designing something. I had to wait for my stash to arrive because I already knew which yarn I would use: Karoo Moon’s Handspun. I bought the yarn shortly before we moved to Germany and had to wait for the ship with our boxes to arrive before I could start.I knew it would have to be something colourful, so the 205g of multi-coloured yarn was going to be perfect. I used 100g of Coral for the lace border. I also knew it would have to be a cold weather accessory. Partially because of the yarn and also because of the fact that Marinke preferred cooler weather (as most Europeans seem to do 😉 ).


I decided on a cowl, one that could be worn long, or doubled up for a more snug fit. Something that was also decided from the get-go was a faux-knit stitch. At the beginning of the year Marinke was part of six bloggers who were asked by Deramores to predict crochet trends for 2015. One of the trends she predicted was crochet that looks like knitting. She also designed quite a few faux-knit items, like this awesome beach bag!

So, the design had to be  colourful, snuggly and look like knitting. And this is the result: The Colour Your Mind Cowl.

Colour Your Mind Cowl

If you like this pattern please click on the Ravelry link and add it to your favourites, this will help others to find the pattern too. It will be released on Saturday, 10 October, which is Worldwide Mental Health Day, so you’ll have to wait a few more days before you can download the pattern, for free. In the mean time, spread the word about the pattern, add it to your favourites and look at some more photos below.




Colour Your Mind Cowl
1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page