top of page

The Summer Beach Dress

I think it was June or July when I received an email from Your Family magazine asking if I would be interested in designing a dress for them. I felt like I was being thrown in the deep end a bit. I had never designed a piece of clothing before! But I do like a challenge and so I said, yes, definitely! The catch? The dress had to be done early September, as the magazine has quite a long lead time.


Anyway, I threw myself into work and have been dying to show you the finished dress since September, but for obvious reasons I could not show it to you before the magazine hit the shelves, which it has just done, so, YAY! Even more exciting is the fact that it was used on the cover!


1456559_575737129146088_1010151819_n

A few notes on designing the dress: It actually ended up being quite simple. I think ever since the first email I was breathing, thinking and dreaming that dress and how I would design it, so when I finally sat down to actually crochet it it went quite quickly. The trickiest bit was working out the sizes (8-12). It’s crocheted in the round from the straps down and once you get a hang of the stitch pattern it is really easy to do, as all you need to do is crochet round and round and round.

Here’s a photo of the original dress I made, it worked out to be more of a size 6 than an 8, which was what was needed for the beautiful Carishma, who modeled it.


8ff90dec63c511e382550ae424ec91ba_8

If you live in South Africa, go and get yourself a copy of the January issue of Your Family, since the pattern is inside 🙂

**Good news for those of you outside of South Africa! The pattern is now also available on Your Family’s website! YAY!**

I would love to see the finished dress, if you make it, so please send me a photo, or post it on my Facebook page or Instagram it tagging me @stephaniedavies and #abagfullofcrochet.

Oh, you can also have a look at the crochet series I’m currently blogging for the magazine here.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page